Summer Student Experiences

Summer 2020: May 24 through September 5

Summer employment for Williams students is different from academic year student employment in a few ways, most notably the pay schedule and tax implications. This is particularly true if students are in other countries or states other than Massachusetts.

The COVID-19 pandemic has created the need for changes in our typical summer hiring practices.

  • We cannot “employ” students to perform work remotely during the summer.
  • Taxable one-time stipends will be paid to students to have meaningful academic experiences regardless of where they are located.
  • In a phased to return campus, we may proceed with hiring students who have been approved to be on campus for the summer and/or those who live locally. We will only consider employment opportunities that serve critical needs, and where social distancing and safe practices can be implemented.
  • Students are still required to complete the I-9 Form before they can be hired or receive their stipend. The Department of Homeland Security has established interim protocols to complete the I-9 that do not require a student to appear in person to complete the form. We will work directly with those students who need to complete an I-9 on the steps to take.

Employment preference is given to enrolled Williams students, defined as entering first-years and rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors.  Within that group, hiring priority is given to those on Williams-based financial aid.

Hiring through Manager Self-Service in the Human Resources System is not available for summer 2020. To authorize a student hire or make changes needed after hire, visit the Student Employment section on the Forms page. Please note that authorization forms must be submitted by the dates indicated below in order for a one time, stipend payment to be generated by the associated pay date (see table below). Authorization forms received after the required date will be processed for the following check issue date.

Questions About Summer Student Experiences:  please contact [email protected].


Summer 2020 Important Dates

(Same pay dates as Support Staff during the summer)

Authorization Form required by this date
Pay period Deadline for Direct Deposit & Tax Forms Check issue date
Mon, May 18 May 10-May 23 Sat May 23 Fri, May 29
Mon, Jun 1 May 24-Jun 6 Sat, Jun 6 Fri, Jun 12
Mon, Jun 15 Jun 7-June 20 Sat, Jun 20 Fri, Jun 26
Mon, Jun 29 Jun 21-Jul 4 Sat, Jul 4 Fri, Jul 10
Mon, Jul 13 Jul 5-Jul 18 Sat, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 24
Mon, Jul 27 Jul 19-Aug 1 Sat, Aug 1 Fri, Aug 7
Mon, Aug 10 Aug 2-Aug 15 Sat, Aug 15 Fri, Aug 21
Mon, Aug 24 Aug 16-Aug 29 Sat, Aug 29 Fri, Sep 4
Tue, Sep 8 Aug 30-Sep 12 Sat, Sep 12 Fri, Sep 18
N/A Sun, Sep 13 N/A Fri, Oct 2

Note the FY switch –  this doesn’t affect paychecks, but it may affect budgets. The first and last pay periods generally do not fall under summer employment dates, but are listed here for reference.

A note about imputed income. Those students who are receiving payment for their summer experience and who reside on campus will have imputed income applied. This means students will be taxed on the value of their campus housing. The value is calculated by multiplying a daily rate by the number of days a student is in campus housing.